Clarity (What the heck IS iMoveU, exactly?)

love carved on a dock in Austin“People who lack the clarity, courage, or determination to follow their own dreams will often find ways to discourage yours. Live your truth and don’t EVER stop!” 

― Steve MaraboliLife, the Truth, and Being Free

Over the past few weeks, I’ve had the opportunity to talk to many of my friends and family about iMoveU. I love how brutally honest they have been. Nearly everyone who has been following my journey on Facebook, Instagram, or my blog has come up to me and said “Ok, what exactly are you doing with iMoveU? It sounds really cool, but I don’t get it.”

Although it is as clear as day in my head, I can see how it is confusing to many who don’t currently rent space inside my brain.

So, here is my attempt at providing clarity with iMoveU.

Over the next few months, I will be filing the paperwork to establish iMoveU as either non-profit organization (501(c)3) or as benefit company, which is a for-profit corporation that is incorporated for a socially just purpose. I’m in the process of working through the logistics with my amazing, newly minted lawyer brother-in-law. (By the way- if you live in Atlanta and you are looking to hire the most amazing, compassionate, hard working and ethical lawyer in town, send me a message. I have the perfect person for you!)

The mission of iMoveU is to empower heart centered change in motion. What does that mean, exactly? I’m so glad you asked. iMoveU combines a mix of exercise, professional/personal growth, music, humor and nutrition all-in-one to provide transformative learning experiences. I’m passionate about all of these things, and as someone who is busy with 3 kids, I don’t want to have to go to 5 different places for 5 different things. iMoveU workshops begin with exercise (as that is what prepares our brains to learn), provides a short but powerful presentation on a specific topic (creativity, innovation, time management, clean eating, storytelling, personal branding, etc…) and ends with networking, discussion and reflection. Oh, and there will be laughter, movie quoting and embarrassing stories that help make a point. Think of it as an exercise class followed by story time, all led by your crazy cousin Ginny, who also baked a smorgasbord of healthy food options for you (no, I didn’t spit in your food. Or did I??!!).

iMoveU focused on “heart centered change” because, often times, we make decisions in life based on money, ego, anger, fear, doubt, peer pressure, or because of societal “norms”. iMoveU empowers people to make positive changes in their lives that are in line with their beliefs, values, morals and goals. It means that iMoveU will provide services for individuals, schools and organizations that help people close the gap between who they are and who they want to be. Often times in life we have a vision of the person we strive to be, but for various reasons we aren’t there. Maybe you take care of yourself physically, but you feel stuck in a job you hate and you don’t have the confidence or resources to change. Maybe you are very successful in your professional career but you aren’t sure how to live a healthier lifestyle. Maybe you feel “happy” staying at home with the most important job in the world raising your beautiful children, but feel as though something is missing and would like to better understand how you can give back to your community. Maybe you woke up one day and didn’t like the person you saw in the mirror, but you have no idea how to change. I firmly believe, with all my heart, that money should not be a barrier for those interested in living a better life. It breaks my heart when I see people going through the motions and not taking the time to better themselves because they can’t afford it or they don’t know where to start. iMoveU was established based on the belief that individuals can and will make positive changes in their lives when they believe they can, and have a support system in place to guide them through their transformation.

To better understand if you are living your best life, ask yourself a simple question. If  you went to the doctor today and received the news that you only have 3 months to live, would you continue living your life as you are now, or would you make drastic changes to your lifestyle?

Maybe you think that’s a bit dramatic and over the top. That’s fine, but for me, I want to live the rest of my life knowing that each day I wake up and gave it my all. Every day is an opportunity to give awesome and be awesome. Not everyday is going to be amazing. Trust me- I have 3 small kids, and most days it’s a rat race of “stop kicking your brother and eat your food!”, “please pick up your mess”, “no you can’t have ice cream for dinner”, “Chopper! (my 12 year old dog) Stop scooting your ass across the carpet!” and my favorite “if I have to tell you one more time to <fill in the blank>, I’m going to <fill in the blank, again>”. I know that some days (and today was one of them), I’m going to feel exhausted, overwhelmed and confused if I’m doing things the “right” way. But, I also know that every day is a gift, and I’m never guaranteed tomorrow. On April 17th, a seemingly healthy father of four from my boys’ school passed away as a result of a pulmonary embolism. A few months ago, a seemingly healthy, beautiful and compassionate college student and summer nanny for my cousin was found  in her apartment as a result of a blood clot. Although I didn’t know either one well, I sat and cried in the privacy of my own home. I cried for their families, and I cried because I feel so overwhelmingly blessed to have what I have. What if it would have been me? Does my family know how much I love them? Do the little things that upset and worry me REALLY matter? Am I doing everything I can to live my life to the fullest?

WE.ARE.NOT.GUARANTEED.TOMORROW. 

PERIOD.

Sorry for the emotional rant, but if you feel that tingle in your stomach (as I did), and you want to make changes but you don’t even know where to start, the first step is simply to say out loud that you want to change (and that you want to change for YOU, not for someone else’s love or attention). The second step is to believe you can change. The third step is to find someone or something that can help you change.

Hello there. Nice to meet you. How can iMoveU?

I have a variety of “offerings” I’m in the process of developing, some for free for those who can’t afford it, and some for a fee for businesses and schools who can afford to pay.

Here is the name and tagline:

 iMoveU

Be Brave. Be Better. BE HAPPY.

These 3 statements have tremendous meaning for me.

  • Be Brave is a tribute to Sara Bareilles and her beautiful song BRAVE. I’ve listened to that song over and over again to remind myself to be brave, say what I want to say, and follow my heart. It is REALLY hard to put yourself out there and do something new. Every time I post on my blog, Facebook or Instagram and don’t get any action on it, I begin to doubt myself. But I keep on chasing my fear. I’m going to say what I want to say. I’m going to be brave.
  • Be Better is a tribute to Seth Godin and his beautiful blog post about the difference between more and better. I’ve gobbled up most of his books, and his blog posts are succinct, concise and inspirational. I’m currently taking his Skillshare class which focuses on how to build a new business the “right” way. To paraphrase one of my favorite posts from him,

“The restaurant makes the menu longer instead of figuring out how to make even one dish worth traveling across town for. We add many slides to our presentation before figuring out how to utter a single sentence that will give the people in the room chills or make them think. We confuse variety and range with quality….Better is better than more.”

  • BE HAPPY is a tribute to Pharrell Williams and his Happy song. My 3 boys and I have danced our hearts out to that song weekly for the past few months. It has gotten me through one of the most challenging times of my life. It’s truly amazing how much music can lift you up, inspire you, and wrap you in love when you need it most. Every single time I’ve doubted myself over the past 2 months or this vision of iMoveU, that song comes on. In the car, on TV as my husband flips through the channels, or at Starbucks on a Sunday night while I’m writing and wondering if anyone will want what I have to offer. EVERY TIME.

I have a long-term business plan of what iMoveU will offer, but as I mentioned earlier, “better is better than more”. In addition to that belief, I also have 3 beautiful boys and an amazing husband who deserves my undivided love and attention. So, as much as I want to work 40+ hour weeks and change the world, I’m going to take it slow.

I decided to launch iMoveU on Mother’s Day because there is nothing else I would rather do on Mother’s Day than to spend quality time with my family and friends. Many people were confused because this “launch” doesn’t incorporate exercise as I’ve mentioned in my previous posts. That’s coming (see below). This launch is more of a promise to my family that as I embark on this new journey, I will put their needs front and center, and I won’t chase my dreams at the expense of quality time with my husband and kids. It’s more of a symbolic launch, I suppose.

So here is my version 1. Starting this summer, I’m offering 2 things FOR FREE FOR WOMEN ONLY (weather permitting, a schedule is in the works and will be shared soon):

iMoveU @ Happier Hour:

  • 2 hours in length (7:30-9:30 pm on a weeknight)
  • 3o minutes of exercise, followed by a short, 15-20 minute presentation on a specific topic
  • Discussion/networking/reflection
  • Healthy food and juice options
  • BYOB

iMoveU @ Morning Rush Hour

  • 1 hour in length (5:45-6:45 a.m. on a weekday morning, or 7:30 am on a weekend morning)
  • 30 minutes of exercise, followed by a short, 15 minute presentation on a specific topic
  • 15 minute run and rant, jog and jabber or walk and talk reflection
  • healthy breakfast and juice to-go options for purchase

The summer schedule will be based on the weather and my availability. Think of it as a moving food truck, only it’s exercise and personal growth with healthy food. I’ll put out a schedule weekly with the dates/times/locations and topics.

Some of these I will also offer an option to join via Google Hangouts so those of you who want to join but live in Texas, North Carolina, California or Iowa can still join me online! 

Also, I will be taking some summer trips to Iowa City, Des Moines, Ames/Gilbert, and possibly Atlanta, so if you live in these areas and want to help me plan a free iMoveU bootcamp LET ME KNOW!

Why am I doing this for free you ask? And how am I going to fund and sustain this financially?

Great question. That’s for another post. But trust me, I have a plan.

4 thoughts on “Clarity (What the heck IS iMoveU, exactly?)

  1. Sister…excited is all I can say. I have been running to “Brave” lately, and if I weren’t out of breath from exercise I would shout the lyrics out loud (although the YMCA probably appreciates that I don’t! lol)

    Beyond proud. Beyond inspired. Beyond Joy-filled.

    Much love, ~Ki-Anne

    Date: Sat, 3 May 2014 02:37:03 +0000
    To: kileymars@hotmail.com

  2. Ginny – what an inspiration. Your words speak so much depth to me on so many levels. I love everything about iMoveU and your tagline. You seem to capture in iMoveU some of my own thoughts (maybe this is why I actually get what you are doing…) On ‘being brave’…this has been my own personal mantra when thinking about my own direction and especially with going back to school – me a scholar? Me… ME…adding to the research arena? On ‘being better’ channeling your energies with my own exercise program – someone asked recently about my new hip. My reply – it is life changing. I can’t run or even job but I can walk and I walk is what I do and I embrace the walks and taking care of me! On ‘being happy’ this song, every single time I listen… I seem to find myself singing along and tapping my fingers… it just changes my mood! Congratulations! (Oh and I would love to find out more about the virtual connections)

    • Heather- Thank you so much for your kind words! YOU are amazing- your resilience and positive attitude with your hip is so inspiring. I will for sure keep you posted on the virtual connections!! Hugs to you! xoxo

Leave a Reply

