Introducing iMoveU

“When in doubt, make a fool of yourself. There is a microscopically thin line between being brilliantly creative and acting like the most gigantic idiot on earth. So what the hell, LEAP.” 

-Cynthia Heimel

It was just over a year ago that the idea came to me. I don’t remember where I was or what I was doing, but I remember my inner voice suddenly take over me, screaming in my ear “You need to figure out a way to do what you love by combining your two passions: exercise and professional growth. And you need to call it iMoveU!”.

For the most part, I ignored my inner voice. I was pregnant with my third child, working full-time in a job I enjoyed, surrounded by co-workers I adore, and in grad school finishing my Master’s degree. Free time was something I had very little of. But in those fleeting moments when I was alone with my thoughts, my inner voice would remind me of what I was putting off.

It wasn’t until August, when my 3rd son was born, that I had some free time to explore the idea. With the older 2 boys in school and a newborn who loved to sleep, I had pockets of time where I started to flush out what I wanted iMoveU to be.

It’s with tremendous fear excitement that I am finally ready to share the idea with the universe and see where it goes.

Introducing iMoveU: An innovative approach to professional growth

iMoveU was developed based on research that exercise positively affects learning. By incorporating movement into the learning process, we are increasing the brain’s cognitive capacity, allowing the body and mind to work together.

iMoveU

 

WHY?

As a working mother, education enthusiast, and exercise junkie, I understand how difficult it can be to find time to take care of ourselves. I often times felt guilty taking time out of my day to exercise because it meant taking time away from my family or time away from work. However, on the days I exercise I found that (as I’m sure you all know and can relate) I’m more productive, I have more energy, and I’m just….happier.

iMoveU is dedicated to providing innovative learning experiences, allowing the mind and body to work together. By incorporating movement and exercise, we are clearing our minds and allowing the brain to absorb and process new information.

I believe that learning is a lifelong journey. Throughout my career I have continually sought out opportunities to grow professionally.

I have an insatiable thirst to explore the world I live in and my purpose within it.

As a result, I’ve sat through my fair share of workshops, seminars, webinars, classes and retreats. Some have inspired and transformed me as a learner. Others have sucked the life out of me.

I’m also a bit of an exercise junkie. I fell in love with running in middle school and haven’t looked back since. I hoard workout videos like candy, and I’ve tried everything from hot yoga to The Dailey Method. Exercise is so much more than a way to improve my health and wellness. I quickly realized that some of my best thinking comes when I’m in motion.In the book Steal Like An Artist, author Austin Kleon shares that “our bodies can tell our brains as much as our brains tell our bodies”.

I’m hoping to create learning experiences that challenge your perspectives, expand your horizons, make you laugh, get you moving, and push you to strive for better

iMoveU is my way of sharing what I have learned with others. This is a journey that is just beginning, and I am looking for friends, family and community members to help me build this into what I know it can be. If you are interested in participating, here’s how you can be involved:

  • iMoveU pilots: I’ve tested it once with 3 of my amazing friends (you know who you are- THANK YOU), and I need to test it out a few more times to improve upon what I’ve developed. If you have the space to host a session and people to test it out, I’ll do it for free. I am looking to do 5-10 pilot sessions within the next few months.If you have a small group of co-workers you think this could benefit (think of this opportunity as a new type of motivational/inspirational speech) I’d love to talk with you about how this might work with your organization. I have an entire list of topic ideas ready to go.
  • Send me your feedback: Comment on this blog post, on FB, call me or send me an email. I would love to hear your thoughts, answer your questions, and connect with anyone you think I should talk to.
  • Follow my Pinterest board: iMoveU is more than just in-person workshops and events. As an avid reader and reflective practitioner, I’ll post what I’m learning online. As I read and find inspiration, I will share it with you through a new board I created on Pinterest. Feel free to steal and use these images, just give proper credit 🙂
  • iMoveU Spring/Summer Bootcamp: Beginning in May, I’m going to offer 1 hour outdoor bootcamps. (Weather permitting of course. I’ve talked to mother nature and she has assured me this cold, dreary winter weather WILL come to an end.) These 1 hour iMoveU sessions will include a mix of strength and cardio moves, a short 15-20 minute presentation of a topic or idea (for example- creativity and innovation), and a 20 minute reflection run/walk. If you live in the Arlington Heights area and you are interested in learning more about these bootcamps, fill out this form and I’ll send you more information.

Within the next month I’ll also share my website which will explain iMoveU in more detail.

So there you have it. Who knows where this journey will lead me. It’s been terrifying and nerve-wracking to put myself out there, but the more I work on it the more my inner voice is yelling “YES!! Keep going! FINALLY!” If iMoveU helps even one person to improve themselves personally and professionally, I’ll consider it a success. And more importantly, if it inspires my 3 boys to pursue their passion and  find joy in their life’s work, I’ll know I’ve successfully modeled for them what I hope they strive for as adults.

“Look what I accomplished all by myself!” –Said no one, ever

This is hardly a solo effort. So many people have already helped me along the way, and I couldn’t be more grateful for their support. A huge thank you to my husband for his unwavering support and encouragement in this new venture. Thank you to my parents who took care of my 3 boys for a week in Florida so I could sit on the beach and dream of what this could and should be. Thank you to my inner circle of friends and family who have taken the time to listen to my iMoveU rants, provide feedback on my website, and volunteered to be my test monkeys. Thank you in advance to those of you who I’ll be reaching out to in the coming months for help. Feel free to ignore my calls, texts and emails now that you know what I’m up to. But don’t forget I know where you live, and I have a box full of high school, college, summer vacation and wedding pictures that can easily be scanned and shared online for all to see 🙂

Introducing iMoveU, my adjacent possible.  

 

 

6 thoughts on “Introducing iMoveU

  1. Gin, this is a GREAT idea!

    Wish we were closer so we could do this together!

    But maybe we should put our heads together to figure out how to take a workshop out on the road every once in awhile….I can definitely see some mindfulness/meditation teaching — last summer I had a week’s training in teaching the MBSR — Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction — program, so I could do that part and you could do the movement part.

    Something to think about…

    Anyway, I hope this grows into something cool for you!

    Love from here, Sue

    Date: Sat, 29 Mar 2014 17:49:58 +0000 To: suzannekelsey@msn.com

  2. You always amaze me! I would love to join! I would love to be a part in a “distance” fashion if you can think that up. I need motivation for exercise and learning too would be fabulous! Proud of you!!

    • Thanks Sandy! I would love to figure out a way to participate virtually down the road. Hope all is well with you and your beautiful family.

Leave a Reply

