Gratitude

I’m sitting on my couch, home alone on  a Saturday afternoon. After a year and a half, I have just submitted my FINAL project for grad school. Once all of my projects have been graded and posted, I will have received my Master’s of Science in Instructional Media. For the first time in a long time, I am able to exhale.

Now that it’s over, I can’t believe I did it. Trying to keep up with the projects, discussion boards and assignments as a full-time working mother wasn’t easy. Nothing worth accomplishing ever is though, is it?

I’m home alone because my husband knew I needed space to clear my mind and work. He packed up the car with our 3 boys and headed out for a few hours. He’s done this more times than I can count over the last year and a half. And he hasn’t complained once. It hasn’t been easy spending my precious free time away from my family, and I can’t wait to FINALLY look forward to a lazy Sunday afternoon with nothing to do except play with my kids.

After submitting my final project, I happened to come across this video from Soul Pancake.

In the video, they share the science behind one of the greatest contributors to overall happiness in your life: Gratitude.

It’s with this in mind that I would like to take a second to express my gratitude to one of the most influential people in my life: My husband.

Brian- I met you when I was 18, and I knew. I always kept you in mind, and when the timing was finally right, I somehow convinced you to be my boyfriend:) It turns out, that was the best thing I’ve ever done.

You are the reason I’m where I am today. You have supported me every step of the way, taking on more than your share of family responsibilities so that  I could go back to school. And you do it all with enthusiasm, grace and love. I can’t even begin to say how grateful I am, how much I love and appreciate all that you do. You are everything I have ever wanted, and more than I deserve.

I know it hasn’t been easy. I know I’ve been stressed, overwhelmed, annoyed, tired, and irrational more than I care to admit. Thank you for always listening, always caring and never letting me quit.

I love you more than you will ever know. Our three boys have been blessed with the world’s BEST dad, and I have won the lottery in the husband department.

Here’s to you. Thank you, for everything.

One thought on “Gratitude

Leave a Reply

