You.Com

This post is for my EDIM 514 Internet Tools for Teaching grad course.

For the final project we had to create a digital resume of sorts. A place that can house all of my information, social media resources I use, as well as a link to any projects I have completed that can showcase my learning.

This was a fun project to work on. It made me think about all of the various websites I maintain a presence on and how I can and should use these more to “put myself out there”. As someone who has worked in the ed tech field for almost 10 years, I have a lot to share. But sharing takes time, and I sometimes wonder if people will like what I have to share. There are so many tools at our fingertips that makes sharing easier than ever before. Slideshare, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Flickr, WordPress, Google +, LinkedIn and Mightybell are just a few tools I use to share.

To create my digital portfolio, I chose aboutme.com. I liked the simplicity of the user interface, and the design looks sleek and modern. It allows you to add a number of “apps” so people can easily find you on a variety of social networking platforms. You can also add a bio, contact information, and links to resources.

Most of the projects I have shared publicly for Wilkes are on my blog, so I added my blog as an app, as well as Slideshare where I have uploaded a few keynote presentations. I wish I had more examples of my work to share, but most of it is not online.

I think a tool like this is much more engaging and informational than a resume. It allows you to add your own personality and style to it so people get a feel for who you are and what you bring to the table. It also aggregates all of the websites you maintain a presence on all in one place.

Here is my digital portfolio: http://about.me/ginnywashburne 

Leave a Reply

