It Takes a Village

We’ve all heard it or said it at one point in our lives. “It takes a village to raise a child.”

Before I had kids of my own, I didn’t think much about it. I mean really, how hard can it be to raise a couple of kids.

<Insert laughter here.>

I have 2 boys (ages 4 and 2) and I’m finally starting to appreciate the truth behind the quote.

About 2 weeks ago my husband tore his ACL while playing basketball. It’s been a struggle for him just to get around, and trying to handle 2 small boys with a bum knee isn’t easy. I’ve tried to take care of everything while I’m home (I even mowed the lawn on Mother’s Day!) but I travel for work and there’s only so much I can do from Miami.

Thankfully we have a village.

As soon as the word got out about the torn ACL we received offers of help and support from every angle. My cousin-in-law had us over for dinner. My husband’s aunt and uncle took the boys to Milwaukee for a Cubs/Brewers game. A few of my relatives from the Chicago area banded together to make meals for Brian and the boys while I was traveling this week. I have received texts, calls and emails from family, friends and neighbors all offering to help out. One of the teachers from the boys daycare found me in the parking lot and asked how she could help while I was gone.  She even gave me her cell number and took the time to text me a picture of my son painting while I was in D.C. this week. (To say this picture made my day is an understatement!) My brother’s fiance stopped by the house tonight and took the boys to the park, gave them a bath and got them ready for bed.

I don’t like being away from my boys, but it calms me to know that I have a village helping to raise my children and they will grow to be better individuals because of it.

So thank you to our “village”. We couldn’t do it without you.

Leave a Reply

